Information Book Award

The Children’s Literature Roundtables of Canada’s Information Book Award is given annually to a book that arouses interest, stimulates curiosity, captures the imagination, and fosters concern for the world around us. The award’s aim is to recognize excellence in Canadian publishing of children’s nonfiction. The criteria include accuracy, clarity, imaginative approach, appropriateness of organization and format, and sensitivity to ethnocentric and gender biases.

Eligible titles must be written in English by a Canadian citizen or landed immigrant and have been published in the calendar year prior to the award being granted. Each year in April a national committee based in Vancouver sends out a selective list of 10+ titles that have been judged as the best of the preceding year. All the Canadian Roundtables consider this preliminary list and ballot throughout the summer; their votes result in five finalists. Many Roundtables make time at their first fall meeting to discuss the finalists and vote on their choices, which are then collated with votes from across the country. The winning title is announced in late fall, and the award presented in February or March of the following year. The winning author and the illustrator receive award certificates and share a prize of $1000.

Click here to see the 2017 shortlist.

Info Book Award Criteria (pdf)


Thank you to everyone who took the time and made the effort to participate in the voting process for the 2017 Information Book Award.

The Tragic Tale of the Great Auk
By Jan Thornhill.
Published by Groundwood.







Adrift at Sea: A Vietnamese Boy’s Story of Survival
By Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch with Tuan Ho
Art by Brian Deines.
Published by Pajama Press.




To watch video trailers made about previous year’s Information Book Award finalists and to read more about the award click here.

Previous Award Winners and Finalists

2016 Finalists (pdf)

2015 Finalists (pdf)

2014 Finalists (pdf)

2014 Preliminary List (pdf)

2013 Preliminary List (pdf)

2012 Preliminary List (pdf)

2012 Finalists (pdf)

2012 Winner & Honour Awards (pdf)