2015 Information Book Award Shortlist

The Children’s Literature Roundtables of Canada announce the 2015 Information Book Award Shortlist

(Nonfiction published in 2014, listed alphabetically)

Any QuestionsAny Questions? By Marie-Louise Gay. Published by Groundwood Books.




A Brush Full of ColourA Brush Full of Colour: The World of Ted Harrison. By Margriet Ruurs & Katherine Gibson. Published by Pajama Press.



Komodo DragonsDo You Know Komodo Dragons? By Alain M. Bergeron, Michel Quintin, and Sampar. Illustrations by Sampar. Translated by Solange Messier. Published by Fitzhenry & Whiteside.



Dreaming in IndianDreaming in Indian: Contemporary Native American Voices. Edited by Lisa Charleyboy and Mary Beth Leatherdale. Published by Annick Press.



Not My GirlNot My Girl. By Christy Jordan-Fenton and Margaret Pokiak-Fenton. Illustrated by Gabrielle Grimard. Published by Annick Press.



The RatThe Rat. By Elise Gravel. Published by Tundra Books.




ShapesShapes in Math, Science and Nature: Squares, Triangles and Circles. By Catherine Sheldrick Ross. Illustrated by Bill Slavin. Published by Kids Can Press.



Take ShelterTake Shelter: At Home Around the World. By Nikki Tate and Dani Tate-Stratton. Published by Orca Books.




tastes like musicTastes Like Music: 17 Quirks of the Brain and Body. By Maria Birmingham. Illustrated by Monika Melnychuk. Published by Owl Kids.



We countWe All Count: A Book of Cree Numbers. By Julie Flett. Published by Native Northwest.



Information Book Award Jury:
Camden Jenkins, Kerry-Ann Kerr, Ashley Killian, Deanna King, Alina Kosel, Molly Kumar, Mark MacKichan, Allison Mills, Zane Phillips, Dan Pon, Kelly Savage, Fiona Trotter, Danielle Wing.
Advisor: Judith Saltman
Chair: Kay Weisman

  • Voting Deadline: Saturday October 31, 2015
  • Winner Announcement: Saturday, November 7, 2015 at the VCLR Illustrator’s Breakfast
  • Award Presentation: Wednesday January 27 at the VCLR’s Celebrate Event: A Celebration of Award Winning BC Children’s Authors and Illustrators

For more information about voting and submissions please contact the Information Book Award Chair, Kay Weisman at [email protected]