2019 Information Book Award Shortlist

The jury for the Children’s Literature Roundtables of Canada’s Information Book Award are pleased to announce the 2019 Shortlist.

Voting, by members of the Children’s Literature Roundtables across Canada has begun and will continue through October 31, 2019.  The 2019Information Book Award winner and honour titles will be announced in November 16, 2019, and the award will be presented in January 29, 2020 at the Celebrate BC event, in Vancouver.

Our thanks to all Canadian publishers of information books for children for participating in this award.

Download the ballot form here.

2019 Information Book Award Shortlist

(Eight terrific nonfiction titles published in 2019, listed alphabetically)

Bloom: A Story of Fashion Designer Elsa Schiaparelli. By Kyo Maclear. Illustrated by Julie Morstad. Published by Tundra Books.

Mary Who Wrote Frankenstein. By Linda Bailey. Illustrations by Julia Sarda. Published by Tundra Books.

Out of the Ice: How Climate Change is Revealing the Past. By Claire Eamer. Illustrated by Drew Shannon. Published by Kids Can Press.

Ramadan: The Holy Month of Fasting. By Ausma Zehanat Khan. Published by Orca Book Publishers.

Too Young to Escape: A Vietnamese Girl Waits to be Reunited with her Family. By Van Ho and Marsha Forchuk Skrypuch. Published by Pajama Press.

The Triumphant Tale of the House Sparrow. By JanThornhill. Published by Groundwood Books.

The True Tale of a Giantess: The Story of Anna Swan. By Anne Renaud. Illustrated by Marie Lafrance. Published by Kids Can Press.

Wild Buildings and Bridges: Architecture Inspired by Nature. By Etta Kaner and Carl Wiens. Published by Kids Can Press.

Information Book Award Jury: Brooklyn Cribdon, Vicki Donoghue, Sarah Fast, Lauren Hathaway, Meghan Ross, Natalie Schembri, Lonestar Stone, Fiona Trotter, and Michelle Yule. Chair: Danielle Wing

Roundtables voting deadline: October 31, 2019

Winner announcement: 16 November 2019

Presentation of award: 29 January 2020

Further information/ voting submissions: [email protected]